• Home
  • Top News
  • Bangladesh not among 54 countries eligible to use Schengen visa
International National NRB News Top News

Bangladesh not among 54 countries eligible to use Schengen visa

Bangladesh has not been listed amongst the 54 countries who will be able to enter Schengen countries once the European Union borders open by the beginning of July, reports Gulf News.

Only two South Asian countries – India and Bhutan – made the list. Bangladesh’s neighbouring country Myanmar was also included among the 54 countries.

Schengen refers to the EU passport-free zone that covers most of the European countries, and allows a person to travel to any members of the Schengen Area. There are no border controls within the Schengen Zone.

Ahead of its official release later this week, which is expected to be implemented after July 1, EU officials said that the list will be updated according to the epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in each country, the ability to apply containment measures during travel, and whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

On June 11, the commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did during the pre-pandemic times, according to Schengenvisainfo.com.

The commission also recommended that the member states should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in each third-country.

Related posts

BD solar power plant projects may hit a snag for coronavirus


Two Nuclear-armed Countries at War Like Suicide, Says Imran Khan on Troubled Ties With India


Egypt sentences 75 Brotherhood members to death


Leave a Comment